Roles for Collaboration and Sharing

Roles for Collaboration and Sharing

Both sharing with archives and collaborating with members allows users to control accessibility to records and workspaces in an archive via Roles. 

Roles are predetermined sets of permissions that determine the limits of how accounts and archives can interact with records in selected workspaces.

Permanent supports two levels of managed access permissions via roles.
  1. Member level: Permission granted to accounts to the entire contents of a specific archive.
  2. Share levelPermission granted to accounts with access to a specific archive on a specific record.

Roles Matrix

Roles are defined by which actions are allowed or disallowed on records. Learn more about the definition of actions here.
Action
Owner
Manager*
Curator
Editor
Contributor
Viewer
Read
x
x
x
x
x
x
Create
x
x
x
x
x

Upload
x
x
x
x
x

Edit
x
x
x
x


Delete
x
x
x



Move/ Copy**
x
x
x



Share
x
x




Publish
x
x




Add Members
x
x




x
x




Move/Copy Out of a Share
x





x







*Manager is a role that is only available as a member level, but all other roles have the same meanings/access whether they are used as a member level or a share level.
** Curators can move and copy files within workspaces to organize them, but cannot move files between workspaces, as they do not have permission to publish files.
*** Any role that allows for moving/copying on a shared file or folder only allows those actions within the share itself (i.e. someone who is a curator of a shared folder can copy and move within that folder and any subfolders, but cannot move or copy items outside of that shared folder). Only the owner of the share (the archive that the file belongs to) can move or copy a file out of a shared folder.

Role definition

A manager is someone you trust to edit, organize, and delete materials in your archive, as well as share that material by publishing, sharing, or adding members to the archive. This is the highest member role you can assign someone in your archive.

A curator is someone you trust to edit, organize, and delete the materials in your archive or share. They can make contributions, but cannot make any files public or share them. 

An editor is someone who can contribute to the archive or share by uploading or editing metadata. A person with this role cannot delete materials, publish them, or share them. 

A contributor can upload materials to the archive or share, but cannot add additional metadata or delete materials. 

A viewer can only view files in the archive or share. They cannot make any changes to the materials and cannot share or publish them.

Ownership

Ownership is a special role that behaves differently for sharing and collaborating.  An archive can only have one owner-member but a share can have multiple owner-archives. Only the owner-member can delete an entire archive or transfer ownership of the archive to someone else. 

Assigning additional owners of individual files or folders allows you to capture other entities that may own the rights to that document. 


Example

Archive A shares item X with Archive B and makes Archive B an owner on the share.

If the following accounts are members of Archives A & B with corresponding roles:
  1. Account 1 is owner of Archive A
  2. Account 2 is owner of Archive B
  3. Account 3 is a viewer on Archive A
  4. Account 3 is a curator of Archive B
The resulting access permissions are granted as follows:
  1. Account 1 -> Archive A -> item X: All owner permissions
  2. Account 2 -> Archive B -> item X: All owner permissions
  3. Account 3 -> Archive A -> item X: Viewer permissions
  4. Account 3 -> Archive B -> item X: Curator permissions










    • Related Articles

    • What do the different access roles mean?

      Viewer: a member who can only view the files in the folder Contributor: a member who can view and add files Editor: a member who can add files and edit descriptions and titles Curator: a member who can add files, edit descriptions and titles, ...
    • Sharing Files from the Permanent App with a Share Link

      You can share a file, multiple files, or entire folders in your archive with other Permanent members on the mobile app through generating a share link to view the selected files. With this share link, friends, family members, and colleagues can ...
    • Exclusive Sharing

      Share your files with other Archives while keeping them private from the world. You choose what files or folders you want to share, who you want to share them with and what level of access that Archive should have. You can add, change or remove ...
    • Add and Manage Archive Members in the Mobile App

      You can add members to any Permanent archive to enable collaboration among multiple account holders. Adding a member provides role-managed access to all of the records and workspaces in a Permanent Archive. Each Permanent Archive is owned by a single ...
    • Manage Share Link Settings in the Mobile App

      The Share Link Settings allow you to control who can fully access your materials via the share link. You can customize the link settings by tapping the Link Settings button when you are viewing the Share Link Creation menu. Here, you can choose ...