Organizing Files on the Mobile App

Organizing Files on the Mobile App


There are a number of actions you can take in your Permanent Archive to organize your files, similar to how you might organize your files on your computer. Below are instructions for creating and renaming folders, moving and copying files into folders, and deleting files or folders. 

Creating and Renaming Folders

Folders can be created by tapping the plus button at the bottom right corner of the screen, then tapping New Folder.

            
Upload menu for the iOS app (left) and the Android app (right)

A dialog window will open where you can enter the name of your new folder. Once you've entered the name, tap the "Create" button to create the folder. A new folder with the name you provided will be created.

            
Create new folder window on the iOS app (left) and the Android app (right)

To open a folder, tap on the name and you will be taken inside. If you are already in a folder and you'd like to move out, tap the back arrow at the top of the screen to return to the previous folder or workspace. You can move in and out of folders to find the correct location to create a folder

            
Inside a folder on the iOS app (left) and the Android app (right)

To rename a folder, tap the three dots to the right side of the folder in your archive. 



The Folder Action Menu will appear at the bottom of your screen. Tap Rename, then rename the folder in the dialog box that appears. Tap Rename when you are finished. 

            
Rename folder window on the iOS app (left) and Android app (right)

Moving and Copying Files and Folders

Files and folders can be moved and copied into different locations by using the action menu that appears when you select a file or folder.  You can open the File or Folder Action Menu by tapping the three dots next to the file or folder you want to move or copy. 

            
Folder Action Menu on the iOS app (left) and the Android app (right)

Please note that at this time, you cannot move or copy files from a shared folder to a different workspace in your archive, regardless of what access role you have. 

Move

The Move function moves a file or folder from one location in your workspace to another. At this time, you cannot move files or folders from one workspace to another in the mobile app.

To move a file or folder from the current location to a new one, tap the Move button in the File or Folder Action Menu. The other files in the workspace or folder will gray out, revealing the available options for where you can move the selected file or folder.

Tap the folder you wish to navigate into, then tap Move in the lower right corner when you have navigated to the correct location. The file or folder will be moved from the previous location to the location you have chosen. If you need to navigate back to a previous folder, tap the back button in the top left corner of the workspace. To cancel the move, tap the cancel button in the bottom right corner.

            
Selecting a location to move a file in the iOS app (left) and Android app (right)

Copy

The "Copy" function creates a duplicate file in the location you choose rather than moving it from one location to another.

Once you've selected the files you wish to copy, you can tap the Copy button in the action menu that appears. The other files in the workspace or folder will gray out, revealing the available options for where you can copy the selected file or folder.

Tap the folder you wish to navigate into, then tap Paste in the lower right corner when you have navigated to the correct location. A new copy of the file or folder will be created in that location. If you need to navigate back to a previous folder, tap the back button in the top left corner of the workspace. To cancel the copy action, tap the cancel button in the bottom right corner.

            
Selecting a location to copy a file to in the iOS app (right) and Android app (left)


Deleting Files and Folders

Deleting files and folders completely removes them from your archive in the location in which you're deleting them. Make sure you have copies saved elsewhere in your Permanent archive or on your personal device before deleting files and folders you wish to reupload or reorganize in Permanent.

Select the file or folder you wish to delete and navigate to the File Action Menu by tapping the three dots to the right of the file or folder.

Tap the "Delete" button. A window will appear that will ask you to confirm the deletion. Tap the "Delete" button if you wish to delete the file or folder.

            
Delete alert on the iOS app (left) and the Android app (right)

Sorting Files and Folders

There are three different ways to sort files: by name, by type, and by date.

To sort by any of these, you can tap the sort button (which shows the current way the archive is sorted) towards the top left corner of your workspace. A menu will appear, where you can choose whether you want to sort the files by Name (A-Z or Z-A), Date (Oldest or Newest at the top) or File Type. Tap the button that you want to sort by, and the files and folders will be automatically sorted by that criteria.

            
Sort menu on the iOS app (left) and the Android app (right)

To change your preferred view, you can tap the sort button again to choose another option.

    • Related Articles

    • Organizing Files

      There are a number of actions you can take in your Permanent Archive to organize your files, similar to how you might organize your files on your computer. Below are instructions for creating and renaming folders, moving and copying files into ...
    • Tour of the Permanent Mobile App

      With the Permanent mobile app for Android and iOS, we've made it easier to preserve your most cherished and important photos and files directly from your mobile device. Below is an introduction to the Permanent mobile app, which highlights important ...
    • Create a New Archive in the Mobile App

      Your Permanent.org account allows you to create and manage an unlimited number of archives. Archives can represent any person, a whole family group, or an organization. Switch back and forth between them without needing to log out. Creating a new ...
    • Upload Files Outside the App

      The Share to Permanent feature allows you to import photos or files from your device to your archive through the Permanent mobile app. Use this feature to directly upload photos and videos in your camera roll, emails, text messages to your Permanent ...
    • How do I move files between archives?

      At this time, we are unable to support moving files between archives.  If you have accidentally uploaded files to the wrong archive or wish to move files to a different archive, you can download your files from Permanent and then upload them to the ...