Step 5: Hand Off Your Client's Archive as a Photo Manager

Step 5: Hand Off Your Client's Archive as a Photo Manager

This is step 5 of the getting started guide for Photo Managers. Read on to learn how to build your client's archive, or use the navigation links below to navigate to other steps in this guide.

Handing off your client’s completed archive

Congratulations on finishing your client’s archive! We are so grateful that you and your client decided to preserve their materials on Permanent. 

To share the archive with your client, you’ll want to add them as an archive member. An archive member has complete access to the archive and can make changes to the archive based on the permissions you set for them. You can learn more about the access roles for archive members here.

In general, most photo managers will likely want to transfer the archive to their client by setting their client as the owner of the archive. Even though you will no longer be the owner of the archive, you may want to retain access to the archive in case further work or changes are needed. When you transfer ownership of the archive, your account will automatically be changed to a manager of the archive. A manager role in an archive has all of the same permissions as the owner of the archive, except managers cannot delete an archive. You can learn more about how to transfer ownership of an archive to your client in this article.

Some photo managers and clients may decide that the photo manager does not need access to the archive once it has been transferred. The client, as the owner of the archive, can remove access to any accounts. Learn more about how to remove an archive member here.
  1. Add your client as an Archive Member
  2. Transfer ownership of the archive to your client
  3. Learn about archive member access roles